Khmer Dances by Pich Tum Kravel

“Khmer Dances” is a book written by a Cambodian scholar and artist Pich Tum Kravel. He is also author of other books, such as “Sbek Thom: Khmer Shadow Theater”, “Colour Leather and Shadow Puppet”, “Khmer Mask Theater: Lakhon Khol” and “Khmer Performing Arts”.

Pich Tum Kravel is not just an author. He himself was an artist in the 1970s ad 1980s. He performed in the Yike Theatre on topics such as “Tum and Team”, the Cambodian version of Romeo and Julliette, “Mak Thoeung” etc.

I have the priviledge of knowing him personnally, especially between 1973-1975. At that time my father, Hang Chuon, was the Dean of the Faculty of Dance and Administrator of the University of Fine Arts. The Khmer Rouge attacked Takhmao, the provincial capital of Kandal province and held the area for a few days. I got stuck over there. We had to move back to live in Phnom Penh. While my family was looking for an appartment at the Grey Building of Front Bassac, we spent about 5 months living at the Front Bassac or Suramarith Theatre. Then I spent days watching Cambodian performing arts. This was how I learnt about Khmer dances and Khmer culture. At that time, my father-in-law, Pen Navuth, was director of the theatre and professor of the University of Fine Arts. In the 1980s, he became Minister for Education of Cambodia.

This was how I met Cambodian artisits. Their plight was not easy. They had a hard time during the Khmer Rouge. Only a few of them survived the genocidal regime. Pich Tum Kravel was the student of my father. I know him as Lok Pou Tort.

I would recommend all of you to read the books written by Mr. Pich Tum Kravel.

About Cambodia&InternationalLaw

A government official
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment